DIY: Cut-off shorts + bow

I found this high-waisted Marithe-Francois-Girbaud knee-length denim in one of the local shops here in CDO.  I was mesmerized by its price tag coz it only costs 29 pesos (say about 70cents aud), yay! how cool is that.. I know, by the looks of it.. it’s fugly (fat ‘n ugly) hehe.. but since its highwaisted I thought of buying it eventhough it looks really old and a tad dirty… anyway, I shouldn’t be whining coz surprisingly, it’s already a great find.

so, as I was browsing on some inspirations for diy’s on cut-off shorts, I found one with a bow detail on the back pocket and it seemed really cuuute..(until I started makin’ it)..

DSC_0017 DSC_0018

basically, here’s what the denim looks like.. fugly isn’t it? or a bit out-dated I should say..

so here’s what I did:

DSC_0020

STEP 1: Gather all materials.  For this, you’ll need: scissors, marker (any kind/type it doesn’t matter), tweezers, and another pair of shorts to serve as a guide (optional), needle and thread (for the bow), embellishment (optional)

DSC_0021

STEP 2: Lay the denim on a flat surface and place the other shorts as a guide for measurement on top of the one you wanted to cut. DSC_0022

STEP 3: Mark the denim all the way through.  You can make it longer than the guide just so its easy to make adjustments whenever necessary.  Measurements need not be perfect.  I chose this red shorts as a guide coz the length is just how I liked it. DSC_0023 DSC_0024

STEP 4: Cut.  Follow the mark.   DSC_0026

This is how it should look like after cutting.  It should not be cut straight coz it might end up short on the back.

DSC_0027

Closer look, not a perfect cut but it doesn’t matter 🙂 DSC_0028 DSC_0029

STEP 5. The tweezers.  Patiently remove strands one by one for a more dramatic look.  As to how many strands to pull through, it really depends on your liking.  DSC_0030 DSC_0031 DSC_0032

I took out quite a few strands ’til I got satisfied.

ALL ABOUT THE BOW

DSC_0047

STEP 1.  Make use on one of the pant leg that you just cut off to make a bow.  DSC_0049 DSC_0050

STEP 2:  Start off by cutting 2 rectangular pieces (or one fairly large rectangular piece and just fold it).  Sew it together leaving a small opening in the centre, so you can push the sewn part inside out.DSC_0052

STEP 3: After sewing the sides together, fold it so it would look the same as in the photo.  Sew the middle to keep it in place. DSC_0053

STEP 4:  Make use of another piece of the pant leg to serve as the centrepiece of the bow and to hide the sewn part. DSC_0056 DSC_0058

How do you find the bow on the back pocket of this cut-off shorts? Is it a yay or a nay? 🙂 I sew the corners of the bow on the back pocket to keep it in place.  But I still wasn’t satisfied so I decided to embellish it up a bit.DSC_0060 DSC_0062

I used this embellishment from an old broken dangling earrings, it looked even better…  you can be creative and add any embellishment you like, you can even put another bow on the other side of the back pocket if you wish.. 😉

So this is my finished product… My take on a diy denim cut-off bow back pocket shorts…

DSC_0065 DSC_0067 DSC_0069 PicMonkey Collage

How do you like it? Start making yours now… 🙂

2 thoughts on “DIY: Cut-off shorts + bow

Leave a Reply

